IEC 62061 Training

Safety of Machinery Standards Training Programs
We provide targeted training for personnel responsible for the safety of machinery and systems due to our knowledge of the pillars of the IEC 62061 standard.

On-the-job training on machine safety requirements

The goal of our IEC 62061 standard training is to support the roles responsible for designing equipment in acquiring key skills regarding the functional safety requirements of machinery that use systems equipped with elcontrol system safety-oriented technology. Knowledge of the IEC 62061 requirements is essential for machine safety with a significant impact on the safety of people, the environment, and the infrastructure itself.

Both online and in-person training days can be organized based on what is needed and the number of participants.

The training program develops on the job, as it theoretically and practically follows company roles through the entire complex machinery design process in conformity with functional safety requirements.
In fact, the training plan goes into depth on the IEC 62061 standard and the functional safety principles applicable to the machinery to obtain the required SIL with the purpose of training personnel through a technical-operational approach.

Training sessions are given by our in-house pool of TÜV Rheinland-certified training specialists with longstanding theoretical and operating experience in the functional safety field and cover the following modules:

  • IEC 61508 and IEC 62061
  • SCS (Safety-Related Control System) Design
  • Pre-design Subsystem Use
  • Safety Lifecycle
  • Risk assessment and assigning the SIL

The skills acquired can be used to immediately manage these issues within one’s organization. The participation is proved by the certificate of attendance signed by H-ON Consulting.


The IEC 62061 standard is “Safety of machinery: Functional safety of electrical, electronic and programmable electronic control systems” and specifically implements the minimum functional safety requirements for machinery provided for by the IEC 61508 standard. IEC 62061 dictates the requirements applicable for designing control systems, sub-systems, or non-complex devices.

The IEC 61508 standard is the basic framework for functional safety that defines the minimum requirements that equipment and systems must follow to be used in the various industrial sectors, while the IEC 62061 standard expands the rules for the implementation of these minimum requirements specifically to machine safety.

The goal of functional safety is generally to certify that there are no unacceptable risks that can cause physical injuries, direct or indirect harm to people or the environment. A risk assessment entails reducing this risk that, in turn, identifies the need for safety-related parts of control functions that properly meet the functional requirements, such as operation frequency, downtime, failure mode, which define the system’s overall SIL (Safety Integrity Level).

Recommended Posts

Cosa introduce la IEC 62061 ed 2
cos'è sil sicurezza
functional safety assessment case study

Follow us on

Why Choose us

  • Personalized training course tailored to your team for knowledge of the IEC 62061 requirements
  • Wide range of correlated training and consulting services
  • Our internal division BYHON is ANSI accredited for Functional Safety certification according to the IEC 61508 standard

For more information about this service or to request a quote